May 10, 2011

  • Belated Mother’s Day Wishes



    A Belated Happy Mother’s Day Xanga

    My daughter wanted to share Mother’s Day photos.  So, with the overload of photos I took Sunday, it was a while to go through them, to find something from every aspect of our day -food and – the evening movie.

    We had a good day, working a little and relaxing more.

    Mother'sDay-1_2011-BFischerFr©RSBlain

    1-  Mother’s day or not, the cat gets his share of attention from John.  This was the first photo of the day.

    Mother'sDay-2_2011-WindowCleanFr©RSBlain

    2-  The day before Mother’s Day, Saturday we carried the house plants outside.  I have them on the porch as the weather forecast says we are going to get more of the type of rain we have been getting and I don’t want them to drown.  I believe April went above 12 inches of rain.  It was amazing.  Anyway, after carrying plants out, I needed to clean out the window.  This is only part of what needs to be done.

    Mother'sDay-2B_2011-WindowCleanFr©RSBlain

    2b-  I nearly forgot my chickens in my window.  The fat hen is just a plastic cast I bought at the feedstore but she is sooooooo cute.  The rooster, John bought it for me for Christmas this last year.  I have a thing for Turkeys.  Chickens run a close second.  You can find lots of chickens but not many really nice turkeys so I have to feed my habit with hens and roosters I really like.  They need a good washing but I dusted the cobwebs and dried leaves from the top and middle shelves for the time being.  I didn’t want to work all day on Mother’s day!

    Mother'sDay-3-2011-IsabellaYardWorkFr©RSBlain

    3-  This photo is actually a couple of weeks ago.  I am sure I have more recent ones but must have put them in the wrong folder.  John does all the hard work in the yard. 

    Mother'sDay-4-2011-PotsFr©RSBlain

    4-  We brought out all the old pots and added new ones I wanted.  Just in time for Mother’s day.  The greens between the cracks in the bricks will come out as soon as there is time.  Too bad it isn’t edible and It may get mowed for a while.

     Mother'sDay-5-2011-RBWOODPECK©RSBlain

    5-  We have a lot of birds at the feeder.  I take photos everyday trying to catalogue all of the ones that come to it.  This is a Red Bellied Woodpecker.  Woodpeckers have sticky or hairy tongues that help get the bugs out of dead trees.  He sticks it out when he is getting the nuts from the feeder.  He really likes the peanuts and the photos run from the difficult choices to swallowing a peanut whole.

    Mother'sDay-6-2011-Redpoll-3Fr©RSBlain

    6-  This is a Red Poll and is a type of Finch.  He looks a lot like a Sparrow but you can’t mistake him because of the red in his head and breast feathers.

    Mother'sDay-7-2011-WhiteCrestSparrowFr©RSBlain

    7-  This little bird was new to me.  I looked through my bird books and it is called a White Crested Sparrow.  He really catches the eye with those white streaks.  I noticed him  as soon as he began showing up at our feeders.  He is now, by the way, bringing his aunts, uncles, cousins, brothers, sisters and good friends to the feeder.

    Mother'sDay-8-2011-IsabellaFloodLakeFr©RSBlain

    8-  After we left the house, we picked up a picnic lunch at one of the Chicken places.  We carried it to Lake Isabella where we sit and people watch.  The lake is flooded and has been for a good while because of the heavy rains.  You can’t keep a good fisherman down or the kids.  Someone is always fishing and there were a lot of families out on Mother’s Day, fishing, eating, playing.

    Mother'sDay-9-2011-IsabellaCarParkFr©RSBlain

    9-  This is the car park we are sitting in and I always love to get photos of the Sycamore tree you see just left of center.  I love Sycamore trees.

    Mother'sDay-10-2011-WadingFr©RSBlain

    10-  Lots of wading going on yesterday, the weather felt warmer but I’m not sure about the water.  Usually the park doesn’t allow wading, only boating and fishing.  The ranger was running back and forth yesterday and I’ve wondered if it was because of so many kids in and out of the water.

    Mother'sDay-11-2011-BoatingFr©RSBlain

    11-  All of this group was in and out of the water the whole time we were there.  They had a ton of fun whether it was allowed or not.

    Mother'sDay-12-2011-LakeTreesNRelax©RSBlain

    12-  We are parked just to the right of this picnic area and it’s always a pleasant spot.  The lake is close enough to our home so we can grab some fast food or pack a lunch and go about any day to enjoy.  It’s a favorite spot and it worked just fine for my Mother’s Day. 

    Mother'sDay-13-2011-Goslings-Card©RSBlain

    13-  I think this measures up to “the End”.

    I hope all of Xanga’s mothers had a wonderful day too.
    Becca
    Canon_DigRebelXTiSig.jpg

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *